

RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNCIL LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting of the Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee held on Friday, 24 May 2019 at 10.00 am at the Block A, Committee Room 1, The Pavilions, Cambrian Park. Clydach Vale, Tonypandy, CF40 2XX.

County Borough Councillors - Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee Members in attendance:-

Councillor J Rosser (Chair)

Councillor M Powell Councillor J Brencher Councillor D Owen-Jones

Officers in attendance:-

Miss N Morgan, School Organisation and Governance Team Leader

1 APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from County Borough Councillor S.Rees-Owen

2 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

County Borough Councillor M. Powell declared a personal interest in Agenda item No. 7 – Applications for the Appointment of Local Education Authority Governors – "I am an applicant at Coedpenmaen Primary".

3 ELECTION OF CHAIR OF THE LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE FOR THE 2019/20 MUNICIPAL YEAR

RESOLVED to elect County Borough Councillor J. Rosser as Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2019-20 municipal year.

4 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIR OF THE LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE FOR THE 2019-20 MUNICIPAL YEAR

RESOLVED to appoint County Borough Councillor J. Brencher as Vice-Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2019 – 20 municipal year.

5 MINUTES

RESOLVED to approve as an accurate record, the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A. Governors (Appointments) Committee held on 20th March 2019.

6 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

7 PROPOSAL TO REMOVE A LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNOR

The School Organisation and Governance Team Leader informed Members that a letter of resignation has been received from the applicant, and therefore, no further business is required.

8 APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In her report, the School Organisation and Governance Team Leader advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, five late applications for governorships were circulated for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

| SCHOOL | GOVERNOR | EFFECTIVE DATE |
|-----------------------|-----------------|------------------------------------|
| Aberdare Park Primary | Mrs D Hoffland | 30 th September 2019 |
| Abernant Primary | Mrs June Landeg | 9 th July 2019 |
| Blaengwawr Primary | CBC L De' Vet | 24 th September 2019 |
| Caegarw Primary | CBC P Jarman | 24 th September 2019 |
| Coedpenmaen Primary | CBC M Powell | 24 th September 2019 |
| Cwmdar Primary | Mr W Daniel | 24 th September 2019 |
| Darren Park Primary | Mr R Maddox | 24 th September 2019 |
| Ffynnon Taf Primary | Mrs Megan Jones | 28 th June 2019 |
| Hendreforgan Primary | Mr A Warren | 24 th September 2019 |
| Hendreforgan Primary | Mrs B Griffiths | 24 th September |

| | | 2019 |
|------------------------------------|------------------|---|
| Heol-Y-Celyn Primary | CBC M Webber | 17 th September |
| | | 2019 |
| Llanhari Primary | Mr B Pick | 24 th May 2019 |
| Llantrisant Primary | Mrs M Phillips | 24 th May 2019 |
| Llwydcoed Primary | Mrs A Hosgood | 28 th June 2019 |
| Llwydcoed Primary | Mrs S Evans | 24 th September |
| | | 2019 |
| Maesybryn Primary | Mrs B Channon | 24 th May 2019 |
| Miskin Primary | Mrs J Ward | 24 th September |
| | | 2019 |
| Oaklands Primary | Miss H Wagner | 24 th September |
| | | 2019 |
| Penderyn Primary | CBC G Thomas | 24 th September |
| | | 2019 |
| Perthcelyn Primary | Mrs J Ward | 24 th September |
| | | 2019 |
| Pontrhondda Primary | Mrs V Mumford | 5 th May 2019 |
| Pontyclun Primary | CBC M Griffiths | 24 th May 2019 |
| Pontygwaith Primary | CBC R Bevan | 24 th May 2019 |
| Rhigos Primary | CBC G Thomas | 6 th July 2019 |
| Tonysguboriau Primary | Mr J Woodington | 17 th September |
| Tas analysis Drive and | | 2019 |
| Treorchy Primary | Mrs M Williams | 24 th May 2019 |
| Tylorstown Primary | CBC M Adams | 24 th September |
| Vavehir Drimer (| Mrs E Jones | 2019 |
| Ynyshir Primary | Mr P Privett | 24 th May 2019 |
| Ynyshir Primary YGG Bodringallt | | 24 th May 2019 24 th September |
| | Mrs L Llewellyn | 2019 |
| YGG Pontsionnorton | Mr R Davies | 9 th July 2019 |
| YGG Tonyrefail | Mrs B Griffiths | 24 th May 2019 |
| YGG Ynyswen | Mr D Morris | 24 th September |
| | | 2019 |
| Hawthorn High School | CBC S Powderhill | 24 th September |
| | | 2019 |
| Mountain Ash Comprehensive | Mr H Milton | 24 th September |
| ····· | | 2019 |
| Porth Community School | Mr L Hole | 24 th May 2019 |
| Ysgol Garth Owlg | CBC G Stacey | 24 th May 2019 |
| Ysgol Garth Owlg | Mr R Butler | 24 th May 2019 |
| Ysgol Garth Owlg | Ms J Barton | 24 th May 2019 |
| Ysgol Garth Owlg | Mrs A Harden | 24 th May 2019 |
| Ysgol Garth Owlg | Mrs S Thomas | 24 th May 2019 |

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter County Borough Councillor M. Powell left the meeting for the Appointment of the Governors at Coedpenmaen Primary).

This meeting closed at 10.35 am

CLLR J ROSSER CHAIR.